Overdose of the Holy Ghost Compiled by David Hill

£ 29.99


Z Records continues to release high quality compilations filled with lesser known disco, soul, funk and boogie. Now they return with a long overdue Gospel album compiled by David Hill.

The album leads with a track from The Clark Sisters who are without doubt one of the most successful and prolific family gospel groups of the last forty years. Originally released on S.O.G. Records (Sounds of Gospel), ‘Overdose of the Holy Ghost’ was recorded in 1981 and would go on to become the group’s biggest crossover hit after being licensed to Elektra Records and released internationally in 1983.

The ‘Queen of Gospel Music’, Shirley Caesar turns in a smoldering, socially conscious, Philadelphia International inspired groover with ‘Message To The People’. Gospel artists are well known for taking popular secular songs – or riffs from them – and adapting the lyrics to take the song in a spiritual direction. Kristle uses The Emotions’ ‘Best of My Love’ as its foundation, and builds from a slow intro, gradually turning up the heat until it’s the dancefloor burner that is ‘I’ll Go’.

With further disco and funk induced soul provided by many more Gospel luminaries, plus exclusive edits from David Hill and Z Records’ Dave Lee, Overdose of the Holy Ghost is a shining example of church music that has been influenced by secular soul that was built for the dance floor.


The Clark Sisters - Everything's Gonna Be Alright (Dave Lee Edit)
A2 Sharon Johnson - A Better Day
A3 Dan Greer - Love Is The Message (Dave Lee Edit)
B1 Ricky Womack & Christian Essence - I Need You (Dave Lee Edit)
B2 Shirley Caesar - Heavenly Father
C1 Elbernita 'Twinkie' Clark - Awake O Zion
C2 The Clark Sisters - Overdose of The Holy Ghost
C3 Kristle - I'll Go
D1 The Young Delegation - He Lives
D2 Tommy T & Company - Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere
Format: 2xLP
Catalogue number:ZEDDLP28
YouTube player

More from this artist:

More from this genre: