Salute To The Sun

51616 of 5 stars

£ 28.99


Salute to the Sun is his first album as a leader since Into Forever (2015) and marks the debut of his new band. A hand-picked ensemble featuring some of Manchester’s finest young musicians: Matt Cliffe flute & saxophone, Maddie Herbert harp, Liviu Gheorghe piano, Alan Taylor drums and Jack McCarthy percussion as well as long-time Halsall collaborator, bassist, Gavin Barras who has been at the heart of Halsall’s bands for over a decade. For Matthew it was important to have a band based locally and able, pre-Covid, to meet and play each week, and who also performed a sold-out monthly basement session at Yes in Manchester. The album draws energy from these sessions and inspiration from themes and ideas that have inspired Halsall through the years (on albums such as Oneness, Fletcher Moss Park and When the World Was One) ideas of ecology, the environment and harmony with nature.

Released Jan 29th

Harmony with Nature
Joyful Spirits of the Universe
Canopy & Stars
Mindfulness Meditations
Tropical Landscapes
Salute to the Sun
The Energy of Life
Format: 2xLP
Catalogue number:GONDLP039LESIG

More from this artist:

More from this genre: