Sorry For Laughing

52301 of 5 stars

£ 24.99

  • Limited to 1000 copies
  • Clear vinyl with bonus CD

The first ever vinyl release of Sorry for Laughing, the legendary first album by cult Scottish guitar group Josef K, recorded for Postcard records but destined to become the great 'lost album' of the post-punk era. Recorded at Castle Sound Studios (Edinburgh) in November 1980, Sorry for Laughing should have been issued as Postcard 81-1, but was shelved after the band and label boss Alan Horne decided the 12-song set sounded too polished. Perhaps two dozen white-label copies in unmade sleeves exist, and have sold for as much as 1,000 pounds amongst collectors. Josef K issued their second stab at a debut album, The Only Fun in Town, in July 1981 - only to split after completing a promotional tour. This remastered vinyl-only edition of Sorry for Laughing replicates the original robert sharp artwork (a solarised portrait of the band atop Calton Hill, printed in silver pantone), with detailed sleeve notes on the inner bag, and the added bonus of a 12 track CD, the TV Art demos, featuring all tracks from the band's very first recording sessions in 1979.

Released: May 28th

Fun 'n' Frenzy
Heads Watch
Sense of Guilt
Art of Things
Crazy to Exist
Variation of Scene
Terry's Show Lies
No Glory
Endless Soul
Sorry For Laughing
Format: LP
Catalogue number:LTMLP2549

More from this artist:

More from this genre: